The legislature of Sierra Leone is known as Parliament, and consists of the Speaker and Members of Parliament. Subject to the provisions of the Constitution of Sierra Leone, the legislative power of Sierra Leone is vested in Parliament and the Parliament shall be the supreme legislative authority for Sierra Leone.

The Speaker of Parliament is elected by the Members of Parliament from among persons who are Members of Parliament. Parliament may alter the Constitution by the votes of not less than two-thirds of the Members of Parliament

Unicameral Parliament (124 seats; 112 members elected by popular vote, 12 filled by paramount chiefs elected in separate elections; members serve five-year terms)

Elections: last held on 17 November 2012 (next to be held in 2017)

Election results: percent of vote by party - NA; seats by party - APC 69, SLPP 43
Women in parliament: 18 out of 124 seats: (19%).